top of page
Marguerite Rogers Howie Distinguished Service Award

The Marguerite Rogers Howie Distinguished Service Award was initiated to commemorate the lengthy and outstanding service given to ASBS by Professor Marguerite Rogers Howie.  A member or the organization for more than 40 years, Professor Howie served in several administrative capacities.


As an active member, she served as Executive Secretary, edited the Association's Newsletter, organized the Theophilus E. McKinney Undergraduate Student Research Initiative, and spearheaded development of the ASBS Endowment.  Upon retirement, Professor Howie was honored with the position of Executive Secretary Emeritus.  She continued to serve the organization in an advisory capacity.  Thus, to honor the legacy of Dr. Professor Howie, two designations were added to the in 2002.  First, in her honor, the Association’s Endowment became the Marguerite Rogers Howie Endowment Fund. Second, the Distinguished Service Award was initiated and awarded to its first recipient the following year.  The award continues to be presented annually to an ASBS member whose service models that of Professor Howie.

Marguerite Rogers Howie Distinguished Service Award Recipients 

2003 - Charles U. Smith

2004 - Patricia McGill-Tillman

2005 - Alton Hornsby Jr.

2006 - Lena Wright Myers

2007 - Melvin E. Walker Jr.

2008 - Thessalonia Ford (Posthumously)

2009 - John Moland Jr.

2010  -  Alton R. Kirk

2011   -  Ruth E. Dennis                      

2012  -  McKinley Alexander, Jr.    

2013  -  Mary B. Myles

2014  -  Delores P. Aldridge

2015  -  James E. Jordan

2016  -  Thomas Calhoun

bottom of page